Melissa Rycroft & Tony Dovolani Thank Fans for Dancing with the Stars Win

Tony Dovolani and Melissa Rycroft

Adam Taylor/ABC

updated 11/28/2012 AT 9:00 AM ET

originally published 11/28/2012 AT 1:15 PM ET

This object displays a Brightcove video

We have a winner!

Melissa Rycroft and Tony Dovolani won the mirror-ball trophy on Dancing with the Stars Monday night in the culmination of a challenging all-stars season.

“It’s unbelievable,” Rycroft told PEOPLE after the show. “I don’t know why we kept underestimating ourselves. I don’t know why we kept thinking, ‘It’s not us, it’s not us.’ And it was us.”

Dovolani, who’s never won in 14 previous seasons on the show, was elated on a night when his reasons for celebrating extended far beyond the DWTS ballroom.


From Our Partners